HPFF94 Acknowledgements Up: Contents Previous: Contents

HPFF Acknowledgements

Technical development for HPF 1.0 was carried out by subgroups, and was reviewed by the full committee. Many people served in positions of responsibility:

Geoffrey Fox convened the first HPFF meeting with Ken Kennedy and later led a group to develop benchmarks for HPF. Clemens-August Thole organized a group in Europe and was instrumental in making this an international effort. Charles Koelbel produced detailed meeting minutes that were invaluable to subgroup heads in preparing successive revisions to the draft proposal. Guy Steele developed LaTex macros for a variety of tasks, including formatting BNF grammar, Fortran code and pseudocode, and commentary material; the document would have been much less aesthetically pleasing without his efforts.

Many companies, universities, and other entities supported their employees' attendance at the HPFF meetings, both directly and indirectly. The following organizations were represented at two or more meetings by the following individuals (not including those present at the first HPFF meeting in January of 1992, for which there is no accurate attendee list):

Alliant Computer Systems Corporation David Reese

Amoco Production Company Jerrold Wagener, Rex Page

Applied Parallel Research John Levesque, Rony Sawdayi, Gene Wagenbreth

Archipel Jean-Laurent Philippe

CONVEX Computer Corporation Joel Williamson

Cornell Theory Center David Presberg

Cray Research, Inc. Tom MacDonald, Andy Meltzer

Digital Equipment Corporation David Loveman

Fujitsu America Siamak Hassanzadeh, Ken Muira

Fujitsu Laboratories Hidetoshi Iwashita

GMD-I1.T, Sankt Augustin Clemens-August Thole

Hewlett Packard Maureen Hoffert, Tin-Fook Ngai, Richard Schooler

IBM Alan Adamson, Randy Scarborough, Marc Snir, Kate Stewart

Institute for Computer Applications in Science &Engineering Piyush Mehrotra

Intel Supercomputer Systems Division Bob Knighten

Lahey Computer Lev Dyadkin, Richard Fuhler, Thomas Lahey, Matt Snyder

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Mary Zosel

Los Alamos National Laboratory Ralph Brickner, Margaret Simmons

Louisiana State University J. Ramanujam

MasPar Computer Corporation Richard Swift

Meiko, Inc. James Cownie

nCUBE, Inc. Barry Keane, Venkata Konda

Ohio State University P. Sadayappan

Oregon Graduate Institute of Science and Technology Robert Babb II

The Portland Group, Inc. Vince Schuster

Research Institute for Advanced Computer Science Robert Schreiber

Rice University Ken Kennedy, Charles Koelbel

Schlumberger Peter Highnam

Shell Don Heller

State University of New York at Buffalo Min-You Wu

SunPro and Sun Microsystems Prakash Narayan, Douglas Walls

Syracuse University Alok Choudhary, Tom Haupt

TNO-TU Delft Edwin Paalvast, Henk Sips

Thinking Machines Corporation Jim Bailey, Richard Shapiro, Guy Steele

United Technologies Corporation Richard Shapiro

University of Stuttgart Uwe Geuder, Bernhard Woerner, Roland Zink

University of Southampton John Merlin

University of Vienna Barbara Chapman, Hans Zima

Yale University Marina Chen, Aloke Majumdar

Many people contributed sections to the final language specification and HPF Journal of Development, including Alok Choudhary, Geoffrey Fox, Tom Haupt, Maureen Hoffert, Ken Kennedy, Robert Knighten, Charles Koelbel, David Loveman, Piyush Mehrotra, John Merlin, Tin-Fook Ngai, Rex Page, Sanjay Ranka, Robert Schreiber, Richard Shapiro, Marc Snir, Matt Snyder, Guy Steele, Richard Swift, Min-You Wu, and Mary Zosel. Many others contributed shorter passages and examples and corrected errors.

Because public input was encouraged on electronic mailing lists, it is impossible to identify all who contributed to discussions; the entire mailing list was over 500 names long. Following are some of the active participants in the HPFF process not mentioned above:

The following organizations made the language draft available by anonymous FTP access and/or mail servers:

AT&TBell Laboratories,
Cornell Theory Center,
GMD-I1.T (Sankt Augustin),
Oak Ridge National Laboratory,
Rice University,
Syracuse University,
and Thinking Machines Corporation.

These outlets were instrumental in distributing the document.

The High Performance Fortran Forum also received a great deal of volunteer effort in nontechnical areas. Theresa Chatman and Ann Redelfs were responsible for most of the meeting planning and organization, including the first HPFF meeting, which drew over 125 people. Shaun Bonton, Rachele Harless, Rhonda Perales, Seryu Patel, and Daniel Swint helped with many logistical details. Danny Powell spent a great deal of time handling the financial details of the project. Without these people, it is unlikely that HPF would have been completed.

HPFF operated on a very tight budget (in reality, it had no budget when the first meeting was announced). The first meeting in Houston was entirely financed from the conferences budget of the Center for Research on Parallel Computation, an NSF Science and Technology Center. DARPA and NSF have supported research at various institutions that have made a significant contribution towards the development of High Performance Fortran. Their sponsored projects at Rice, Syracuse, and Yale Universities were particularly influential in the HPFF process. Support for several European participants was provided by ESPRIT through projects P6643 (PPPE) and P6516 (PREPARE).

HPFF94 Acknowledgements Up: Contents Previous: Contents
Thu Dec 8 16:17:11 CST 1994